Five set for induction into Falcon Hall of Fame
by Press-Banner
May 15, 2014 | 3527 views | 0 0 comments | 86 86 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Scotts Valley High School Falcon Club will introduce five new members into the Falcon Hall of Fame at an awards dinner on Saturday, May 17 at the Scotts Valley Community Center, located at 360 Kings Village Road in Scotts Valley.

The inductees include athletes of a variety of sports and accomplishments.

Jennifer Brumbaugh was a varsity soccer and golf athlete all four years of high school. In golf, Brumbaugh was the Santa Cruz Coast Athletic League Most Valuable Player, and qualified for the Central Coast Section, each of her four years.

She played golf at San Jose State University, where the team won three consecutive Western Athletic Conference titles. She now plays professionally with the LPGA.

Hayley Huxtable was an athlete who went on to run track and cross country at UC Berkeley, where she was a NCAA Regional Qualifier.

During high school, Huxtable qualified for State three times, and was named Athlete of the Year in 2007.

Corey Sheredy was a golf and track athlete in her high school years. She led the golf team to a SCCAL Championship and CCS for the first time in school history and was named MVP three times.

In track, she competed in two CIF State Championships, and set multiple school records.

Sheredy continued her track career at UC San Diego, where she competed in the 400-meter hurdles and 1,600-meter relay.

Artie Atencio was the first football player at Scotts Valley High to be named SCCAL MVP.

He was named first team all-county for offense, and was frequently the athlete and scholar-athlete of the week.

Atencio earned a scholarship to play football at Willamette University.

Dane Stevens was a Scotts Valley High wrestler who earned a scholarship to Lehigh University, where he wrestled in NCAA Division 1.

Stevens finished his high school career with 152 wins and 24 losses.

He was the SCCAL and CCS champion multiple times, Santa Cruz County scholar-athlete of the year, team MVP all four years, and finished in the State Top 12 for two years.

The awards dinner for the Hall of Fame athletes will start at 6:30 p.m. Tickets are $45.

For tickets or more information, contact Linda Benko at or at 818-8748.


Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet

We encourage your online comments in this public forum, but please keep them respectful and constructive. This is not a forum for personal attacks, libelous statements, profanity or racist slurs. Readers may report such inappropriate comments by e-mailing the editor at