Falcons, Cougars garner post-season awards
by By Nathan Beck
Dec 08, 2011 | 1159 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print

Scotts Valley High School football players Collin Corbella, Robbie McClure and Joel Claassen earned high praise from football coaches in the Santa Cruz Coast Athletic League by earning co-player of the year honors at their respective positions.

Scotts Valley High School, which finished second in league behind Aptos, had 13 players named to the All-SCCAL first and second teams, while San Lorenzo Valley had six player named to the teams.

Corbella, the Falcon’s primary running back was chosen as a Co-Offensive Player of the Year along with Santa Cruz High running back Jonah Hodges. Corbella finished the season as the No. 2 rusher in SCCAL history with 1,869 yards on the season, passing Santa Cruz High legend Johnny Johnson and finishing behind Harbor High’s Calvin Keyser-Allen who rushed for 2,360 yards in 2001.

“Collin was the best running back our school has ever had,” Coach Louie Walters said. “He’s just a strong runner and really a workhorse.”

McClure, a star linebacker, was named Co-Defensive Players of the Year along with Cody Capurro of Aptos

“Robbie was the best player on this team,” Walters said. “No questions about it, he ran our defense and led a lot of our blocking schemes.”

The Co-Lineman of the Year award was given to Claassen and for his work in the trenches. He split it with Aptos’s Tanner Lardie.

“Joel Claassen was a huge part of the reason that our offense was successful,” said Walters. “One of the rare go-to guys that can get anything done for you.”

Other Falcons making the grade for the first team honors were quarterback Jack Pasquini, offensive linemen Patrick Flebbe and Patrick Marigonda and kicker Noah Beito. Sophomore wide receiver Joe Gillette was the only sophomore selected to the all-league team..

On the second team the Falcons were represented by Spencer Fogelquist and Tyler Marshall on the defensive line, Victor Passanisi at running back, Kevin Bargetto at wide receiver, and Alex Benko at linebacker.

Honorable Mention players from the Falcons were Jacob Sanchez, Jake Duncan, Ryan Wortman, Carson Shoemate, Ari Wargon, and Andrew Stumbo.

SLV had six players selected from the Cougar squad. Quarterback Tyler Gilbert and running back Jonny Cooper were named to the first team offense while defensive lineman Ian Reavey earned a spot on the defense. Cooper moved into the No. 6 spot on the all time Cougar rushing list behind Ken Wright and eclipsed the 1,000 yard mark finishing the season with 1,027 yards and 12 touchdowns. He also threw two touchdown passes.

Cole Morris earned second team all-SCCAL on the offensive line along with Lucky Thomas at linebacker and kicker Ben Knudson.

Honorable Mention players from SLV were Lucas Sinnott, Nick Calabray, Rick Alves, Robbie Biagiotti, Sid Chi and Matt Phillips.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet

We encourage your online comments in this public forum, but please keep them respectful and constructive. This is not a forum for personal attacks, libelous statements, profanity or racist slurs. Readers may report such inappropriate comments by e-mailing the editor at pbeditor@pressbanner.com.