Many open offices as elections approach
by Press-Banner
Aug 09, 2012 | 4351 views | 0 0 comments | 17 17 recommendations | email to a friend | print

The filing period for candidates running for office in the Nov. 6 election ends next Friday, Aug. 10.

Potential candidates must file with the county elections office by 5 p.m. that day. If an incumbent does not file for re-election, the deadline extends to at 5 p.m. Aug. 15.

For more information about running for office, visit or the County Elections Office, 701 Ocean St., Room 201, in Santa Cruz.

Below is a rundown of the offices up for election as of Thursday, Aug. 2. An asterisk denotes that a candidate has filed a statement of intent to run for the office.

A complete list of races in the county is available at



County supervisor, 5th District (runoff from June primary)

Eric Hammer*

Bruce McPherson*



Scotts Valley City Council (three four-year terms)

Dene Bustichi* (incumbent)

Donna Lind* (incumbent)

Randy Johnson* (incumbent)



Cabrillo College, Area 4, Bonny Doon and north coast (one four-year term)

Rachel Spence (incumbent)


Santa Cruz County Office of Education

Arnie Levine (incumbent, Area 3, parts of SLV and SV school districts)

Vic Marani (incumbent, Area 5, part of Scotts Valley School District)


San Lorenzo Valley Unified School District (two four-year terms)

Lea Dakota* (incumbent, Area 5)

Laura Dolson* (incumbent, Area 3)


Scotts Valley Unified School District (three four-year terms)

Larry Beaman (incumbent)

Sue Roth (incumbent)

Michael Shulman (incumbent)


Bonny Doon Elementary School District (two four-year terms)

Julia Gaudinski* (incumbent)

Jennifer Lynn Swift (incumbent)


Fire districts

Ben Lomond Fire (three four-year terms)

Michael Ayers (incumbent)

Biff Belts (incumbent)

Lisa Hill (incumbent)


Ben Lomond Fire (one two-year term)

Tom Maxson* (incumbent)


Boulder Creek Fire (three four-year terms)

Jack Kuehl* (incumbent)

Robert Locatelli* (incumbent)

Rick Rogers* (incumbent)


Felton Fire (three four-year terms)

Ritch Cureton* (incumbent)

Robert Gelini* (incumbent)



Scotts Valley Fire (three four-year terms)

Jane Armstrong (incumbent)

Art Smith* (incumbent)

Alan Smith (incumbent)

Lisa Ann Bustichi*


Zayante Fire (three four-year terms)

Kenneth Boynton* (incumbent)

Lyle Fleming* (incumbent)

Garry “Tick” Herceg* (incumbent)


Water districts

Lompico County Water District (three four-year terms)

Richard Harrington (incumbent)

Lois Henry (incumbent)

Bill Smallman (incumbent)


San Lorenzo Valley Water District (two four-year terms)

Margaret Bruce* (incumbent)

Fred McPherson (incumbent)


Scotts Valley Water District (two four-year terms)

Joe Miller* (incumbent)

Chris Perri (incumbent)


Parks and Recreation

Boulder Creek Recreation & Park District (three four-year terms)

Eric Hammer (incumbent)

Tess Fitzgerald (incumbent)

Brian Valdivia (incumbent)

Michael Watson*

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet

We encourage your online comments in this public forum, but please keep them respectful and constructive. This is not a forum for personal attacks, libelous statements, profanity or racist slurs. Readers may report such inappropriate comments by e-mailing the editor at